Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired

Strategies and alternatives for coping with fibromyalgia, bipolar disorder and other chronic illnesses

A Lovely Surprise . . .

Posted by wendyburnett on July 13, 2010

chronic illness blog awardI’ve been very remiss, but it’s time to make up for that . . . A few weeks ago, I found a wonderful surprise in my email. Jolene, over at Graceful Agony, has awarded this blog the “One Lovely Blog Award.” I’m amazed and honored to be chosen, however, fulfilling the requirements has been rather difficult. Between them, Dominique (4Walls and a View) and Jolene had managed to pass this award to many of the blogs I follow, so I had to find 15 more blogs to pass it on to. Since Dominique also gave me this award for the new blog on my website (Transform Your Chronic Life) I told them I was going to “cheat” and use the same list for both blogs, but I lied . . . I’ve made a couple of changes because I found a blog they both missed, and another new one I really like.

In order to receive this amazing honor, you should meet the following requirements:

* Accept the award and post it on your blog with the name of the person who has granted the award and his or her blog link. (Check.)

* Pass the award to 15 other blogs that you’ve newly discovered (if possible). (Check.)

* Remember to contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award. (Working on it.)

Finding 15 blogs to pass it on to was NOT easy, but I did it, and here they are:

1. Moosh in Indy – I’m not sure what it is about photographers that blog about chronic illness, but I seem to follow a lot of them. Casey actually has several sites for various things, and I encourage you to check them all. Moosh in Indy doesn’t really focus on Casey’s depression in many of her posts, and I find that encouraging. Maybe life DOESN’T always have to be about what’s wrong when you live with chronic illness, maybe it can just be about living sometimes.
2. lipstick, perfume, and too many pills – Nessie’s quest for normalcy while living with psoriatic arthritis is an inspiration on my bad days (and sometimes on my good ones as well.) Her illness isn’t one I know a lot about, but her issues are still the same, and it helps remind me that in this community there are more commonalities than differences.
3. Blue Star Moon – A very visual blog, I find myself checking it sometimes just to see what beautiful new picture Mary has posted, only to discover that the post itself is even more beautiful. Having suffered from chronic pain since childhood, her perspective is uniquely illuminating, and reminds us not to trivialize the pain experience for anyone.
4. Diary of a Forgetful Girl – Forgetful Girl (FG) is a hoot. She can make almost any of the frequent issues of living with chronic illness funny (be sure to read both her “About Me” page and “FG’s Top Forgetful Moments,”) and adds a desperately needed bit of brightness to our chronic lives.
5. Migrainista – Migrainista reminds me that although there are specific triggers that I can avoid to reduce flares and discomfort, I can’t prevent everything. Sometimes it’s worth it to just LIVE without worrying too much about what it’s going to cost, because I may have to pay the cost anyway.
6. Oh My Aches and Pains – Selena is an awesome and prolific blogger who covers more topics than are possible to mention here. She lives with the double whammy of both CFS/ME and fibro, as well as being a cancer survivor and having long term effects from that treatment.
7. Lenkaland – yet another photographer, I love Lenka’s attitude toward her life. She travels, a LOT, and I’m always finding tips that are helpful, and can be applied in non-travel situations as well; and the wonderful photos she takes are a bonus every time I visit.
8. Before You Take That Pill – Doug Bremner is a doctor who writes about drug and health safety news, and is the author of “Before You Take That Pill: Why the Drug Industry May Be Bad for Your Health” His information is accurate and insightful, and is presented from a factual standpoint rather than the “conspiracy theory” viewpoint of so many anti-pharmaceutical writers.
9. How Can I Explain It to You? The Life of a Grad Student with Lupus – SR’s focus is on the experience of living with chronic illness, but her approach is fairly unique. Rather than focusing on symptoms, treatments, and coping strategies as so many of us do; she addresses the effects these things have on our lives.
10. The Happiness Project -A chronicle of Gretchen’s attempts to test-drive every tip, principle and scientific study that promotes happiness; this blog provides tons of ways we can be happier in our lives; and who can’t use more “happy”?
11. Inverse Candlelight – MissBanshee’s wry humor and wide range of topics is a wonderful break from the more serious chronic illness reading I normally do (and besides, I can’t resist cute kitty pictures.)
12. Heal My PTSD (formerly Parasites of the Mind) – Michelle provides huge amounts of information on PTSD, both from a professional and personal standpoint. Her presentation is very accessible, even when the subject is complex; and she provides hope and help to the many who suffer from this disorder.
13. Fibro World (the adventures of Dot and FibroMom) – Fibro World is a team blog; written by both Dot, who HAS fibro, and her mother/caregiver. This is a great concept, because we get to see living with chronic illness from both perspectives; and Dot’s wry, funny cartoons always brighten my day.
14. Working with Chronic Illness – Rosalind Joffe is a career coach who specializes in coaching those with chronic illness. For those of us who still work, either because we must or because we want to, she provides tons of helpful information; including articles about people who are working with chronic illness, and issues that have come up in her coaching practice.
15. Head Wise – Another chronic migraine blogger; Steph has a unique perspective on life, headaches, and social interaction that really resonates with me.

Congratulations ladies and gentlemen – bask in your greatness, and don’t forget to share the love.

2 Responses to “A Lovely Surprise . . .”

  1. Congratulations! And thank you, too.

    I scrolled down the list of folk you awarded this to, hoping for some chronic fatigue types. . . and found Working With Chronic Illness. Hmm. Went over to check her out, LOVED her, and added her to my blogspot Reading List.

    So. Congrats, and thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
