Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired

Strategies and alternatives for coping with fibromyalgia, bipolar disorder and other chronic illnesses

EFT and Tapping for Fibromyalgia – Do They Work?

Posted by wendyburnett on May 6, 2010


Does it work? Yes, and no . . . Like anything else, EFT (Emotional Freedom Techniques) has its benefits, but it is definitely not going to make your fibro go away completely. It does, however, help my symptoms and make my fibro easier to live with, so I’ve added it to the resources I use to help me cope. (Is this purely a placebo effect? I don’t really care. If I feel better, or have less pain, it’s worked for me, and I’m happy with that no matter what the mechanism is.)

I downloaded the free EFT manual from http://www.emofree.com and read the information provided, memorizing the steps needed to perform a treatment. The first symptom I tried it on was a migraine, and it worked pretty well. The first treatment eased the pain, and after two more runs through the steps, the migraine was gone completely.

My next experiment was with the constant pain I have in my neck and shoulders, and I found that a single treatment eased the pain temporarily, but it needs to be repeated on a fairly frequent basis. The manual says that some things can take multiple treatments over time to fully resolve, but since this particular symptom is aggravated every time I lift or carry anything, I suspect that it will continue to come back and need additional treatments.

I haven’t tried it on any emotional issues yet, but that is something I’m definitely planning. One of the recommendations in the book is “try it on everything”, and I plan to. I figure the worst that can happen is that I’ll spend a few minutes on a treatment that doesn’t have an effect, and I think that small investment is worth the chance that it will help.

It seems unlikely that tapping on energy meridians could have any negative effects, but the manual recommends that you discuss the treatment with your doctor before trying it, and I think that is a very good idea. There may be a reason that you shouldn’t tap in a particular area, and your doctor is the best person to make that determination. That being said, EFT is definitely going to be added to my personal arsenal of coping techniques.

(I’m sure someone out there is going to leave a comment calling me an idiot, or worse, for saying that EFT works. That’s fine – if you don’t believe in anything that isn’t “scientifically proven,” don’t try it. That’s your absolute right, however, I also have a right to try anything I want. My body = my choice.)

This post is offered for informational purposes only, and should not be considered medical advice. Advice from a competent doctor should be sought before trying ANY new treatment, to ensure that it is safe in your particular situation.

**If you are reading this post anywhere other than wendyburnett.wordpress.com it is because it has been stolen. Please click on the link provided to return to the site of origin.

One Response to “EFT and Tapping for Fibromyalgia – Do They Work?”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jayleen Hartman. Jayleen Hartman said: EFT and Tapping for Fibromyalgia – Do They Work? « Sick and Tired …: My next experiment was with the constant pa… http://bit.ly/bg6OCw […]

Leave a Reply

 
