Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired

Strategies and alternatives for coping with fibromyalgia, bipolar disorder and other chronic illnesses

Eeeeek, the Internet is Down (and Other Random Bits)

Posted by wendyburnett on March 20, 2010

ACCCCCCCKKKKKKK!!!! We’re offline, and it’s kind of freaking me out. I can’t get online, but am I taking advantage of that to do any of the thousand things I need to be doing? Nope. I’m not washing dishes, or sleeping, or cleaning the bathroom, or any of that. Instead, I’m sitting here obsessing about all the things I CAN’T do.

Things like updating the blog, checking my email, catching up on Farmville . . . Hell, I can’t even do laundry until I’m back online because I’m out of laundry detergent and I can’t make any because the recipe is bookmarked on the puter, not written down. I’ll be fixing THAT as soon as we’re back online, too. SOME things should NOT depend on internet access.

Oh, that reminds me. I’ve found a wonderful way to reduce the amount of time and energy I spend on personal care, too. (Plus, it’s gonna save me a TON of cash!) I was reading “A Month Without Monsanto” the other day, and someone mentioned the “No-Poo” haircare method in one of the comments. I looked it up, and it sounded interesting, so I tried it the next day. I LOVE it. No shampoo, no conditioner; and my hair was still clean, soft, and shiny after 3 days. (With the old shampoo/conditioner method, my hair started to look dull and greasy the next day, and after 3 days it looked like crap.)

Instead of shampoo, mix 1 TBSP (tablespoon for the non-cooks and metric folks among us) of baking soda with 1 cup of water. (I have long hair, so I used 4 cups of water with 4 TBSP of baking soda.) Pour that over your hair, massage it through, let sit for one minute, then rinse out. Follow with 1 TBSP of apple cider vinegar mixed with 1 cup of water (I did 4 and 4 again) and use that to rinse with. Rinse with clear water, and towel dry (if you’re careful, even combing it out is quick and easy.)

I was curious, so before I poured the baking soda/water mix over my hair, I dunked the last 8 inches or so of hair into the container I’d mixed up, just to see what would happen. I couldn’t believe how much crud came off my hair just from dipping it. I’m sure a lot of it was the conditioner that I’ve been using, but some of it was also plain old body oil and dirt.

This is going to be great for my fibro. I’ve been having major issues with having to keep my arms up long enough to shampoo and rinse, then repeat with the conditioner. By the time I got done, I was too tired to do anything but lay on the bed with hot packs on my arms and shoulders to relieve the pain; and it had to be done at least every other day to keep the hair looking decent. I’m now on day 5, and although it’s starting to look a bit dull, I could probably go another couple of days without washing it if I needed to.

(Update: I did actually put my offline time to good use. I finally got ALL the dishes done (not just the ones I HAD to have,) went up to the main house and cleaned the stove, made a HUGE batch of our favorite pasta salad, visited with one of the roommates, and exfoliated my feet and legs. Now that the inet is back, I’ll be making a batch of laundry detergent as soon as the other roommate gets done cooking so that I can have the stove. I’m not sure exactly what’s going on, but I actually feel pretty decent today, pain levels are down around a 5/10 for a change, and that was before I even took any Tylenol.)

**If you are reading this post anywhere other than wendyburnett.wordpress.com it is because it has been stolen. Please click on the link provided to return to the site of origin.

11 Responses to “Eeeeek, the Internet is Down (and Other Random Bits)”

  1. Hunh. Who knew? Baking soda, plain old baking soda. As it just happens to have happened, I have just run out of that hideously expensive stuff I’ve been buying at that hideously expensive salon I frequent. I’m trying your recipe in the morning.

    • LOL, serendipity . . . I hope it works as well for you as it does for me. If you have to wash frequently and need something for conditioning, let me know, I’ve got recipes for that, too.

  2. Farmville is truly evil! Looks as though you got your internet back? By the way, my name is Vlad and I am writing to introduce a Website I’ve created called WellBook (http://wellbook.org). It’s designed to be a place where people with illnesses can reach out to one another for support and to track their health. I hope you’ll be kind enough to take a look (if so, I’d love to hear any thoughts you may have about it) and perhaps link to it on your blog.

  3. I don’t care about farmville. But I do care about my daily writing – which keeps me sane, not to mention, less isolated through a rich online community. And I’m so with you on the fatigue that comes from washing long hair.

    • The baking soda was sooooo much easier. I was able to mix both the soda and water and the vinegar and water before I started, and because they were liquid, I didn’t have to spend a lot of time on working them into the hair (I just smoothed them through as I poured, making sure the hair was saturated.) That meant that I also didn’t introduce a bunch of tangles, which made the comb out a lot easier and faster to accomplish. The shampoo/conditioner method always took me at least half an hour, including a rest break between washing and conditioning. With this, it took about 15 minutes total, including combing, which I used to leave until I’d had at least a 20 minute rest break.

      I love it. Maybe now I’ll actually be able to keep the hair looking decent.

  4. April said

    Yikes! No internet would cause me to have a meltdown. Thanks for the baking soda tip. I totally love the idea of simplifying those everyday tasks. Hope you’re having a good week!

    • You’re welcome. Being sick adds so many complications to your life that being able to simplify anything is a huge benefit. The week is about the same as usual, I guess. Work sucks, but then, work ALWAYS sucks . . .

      I hope that you’re doing okay, and I hope the baking soda works as well for you as it does for me.

  5. leela said

    Hey, can you post your laundry detergent recipe too? I’ve been on the hunt for a good one…

Leave a Reply

 
