Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired

Strategies and alternatives for coping with fibromyalgia, bipolar disorder and other chronic illnesses

FibroFLARE

Posted by wendyburnett on January 28, 2010


Flaring is a bitch. Not sometimes, but always. With fibromyalgia, being tired is a fact of life, no matter what you do; but during a flare it’s ten times worse. If you have fibro, you know exactly what I mean, but if you don’t, there’s no way you could possibly imagine what it feels like. The exhaustion is like trying to move through molasses up to your neck, and no matter how much you sleep, you never feel like you’ve slept at all. (Go to a swimming pool, wade out to your neck, then walk through the water. Feel the drag, how much more difficult it is to move, how much more tiring it is than walking on land, then double or triple that feeling. Now you may have a clue what the exhaustion of Fibromyalgia or CFS feels like.)

In the last 24 hours, I’ve slept 14, and I still feel so exhausted that even trying to eat is too much work. (And oh, joy, I get to walk a half mile to work and stand on my feet for 6 hours this afternoon, then walk back home.)

Then you add in the pain, where everything aches and throbs all the time, with random sharp, shooting pains when you move something. If you don’t have fibro, think about the worst case of the flu you’ve ever had, then multiply that achiness and skin sensitivity times ten, and you might get just a vague idea of what it feels like. Now think about having to go to work when you feel like that, and having to pretend that everything is fine because nobody will believe there’s anything wrong with you (after all, you don’t LOOK sick.)

Now add “fibro fog” where your brain doesn’t work properly, and you forget what you’re doing WHILE you’re doing it; depression because you hurt and can’t do the things you need to; and guilt that you have to ask others to take care of your responsibilities for you. It gets really complicated, really quickly, and some days, the best you can do is hold on and hope it gets better soon.

**If you are reading this post anywhere other than wendyburnett.wordpress.com it is because it has been stolen. Please click on the link provided to return to the site of origin.

3 Responses to “FibroFLARE”

  1. Wow! Thank you! I couldn’t have said it better. Thankfully, my friends and family are very understanding. Still, there’s always that ever-present guilt for not being able to do what I used to and what I’d like to do to contribute more to my family.

    • You’re very welcome, and thank you for the compliment, and the comment. I always enjoy hearing what people think of what I’ve written, even if they disagree with me about something. I fully understand about the guilt, too. I even feel guilty about letting my husband see how bad I feel, because then he feels guilty that he can’t support us so that I could stay home. And on that note, it’s time to go to work. At least it’s only a 4 hour shift tonight, and I have to do some computer training, so I won’t have to stand at the slicer the whole time.

  2. […] FibroFLARE « Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired Go to a swimming pool, wade out to your neck, then walk through the water. Feel the drag, how much more difficult it is to move, how much more tiring it is than walking on land, then double or triple that feeling. Now you may have a clue what the exhaustion of Fibromyalgia or CFS feels like. (tags: fibromyalgia me/cfs) […]

Leave a Reply

 
